a short site about The Divine Comedy

Divine Choice in Ireland

Former Parlophone/EMI act the Divine Comedy won the Irish music Industry’s second annual Choice Music Prize for its 2006 album Victory for the Comic Muse.

The Irish ‘album of the year’ award is modeled on the United Kingdom’s Mercury Prize. It is chosen by a panel of 12 judges from a shortlist of 10 albums. Divine Comedy is the creation of singer-songwriter Neil Hannon, its main and sometimes only member. Despite Hannon’s act being dropped by his label in January, it beat competition from the likes of Snow Patrol’s Eyes Open (Fiction/Polydor), Duke Special’s Songs From the Deep Forst (V2) and David Kitt’s Not Fade Away (Rough Trade).

Hannon received a check for €10,000 ($13,200). The event is funded by labels’ body the Irish Recorded Music Assn. and author’s body the Irish Music Rights Organization. The Feb. 28 ceremony in Dublin’s Vicar Street venue featured live performances from eight of the 10 nominated acts and was broadcast live via national commercial radio station Today FM.

Nick Kelly
Billboard 24/03/2007