a short site about The Divine Comedy

Recent updates

13/05/2013, The Duckworth Lewis Method – Sticky Wickets


The Duckworth Lewis Method has announced the release of their second album entitled Sticky Wickets. It will be released on CD and LP by Divine Comedy Records on Monday 1 July (and on Friday 28th June in Ireland).

Thomas aka Duckworth said: “Lewis and myself felt it would be at least 20 years before the world would want another ‘Duckworth Lewis Method’ album. But it rains a lot in Ireland so we revised our prediction of 20 years by using the Duckworth Lewis Method and it turns out we only needed to wait 4 years.” Neil aka Lewis added: “It’s all Duckworth’s fault.”

The album features 12 songs written by Neil Hannon and Thomas Walsh, and recorded in Dublin and London this year with help of guitarist Tosh Flood and arrangements by Andrew Skeet.

  1. Sticky Wickets
  2. Boom Boom Afridi
  3. It’s Just Not Cricket
  4. The Umpire
  5. Third Man
  6. Chin Music
  7. Out In The Middle
  8. Line And Length
  9. The Laughing Cavaliers
  10. Judd’s Paradox
  11. Mystery Man
  12. Nudging And Nurdling

Many guests are also expected on the album; rumours have included so far Nelson Bragg, Nick Seymour, Bill Cooper, Dave Gregory (XTC), Matt Berry, Carl Barât, Alexander Armstrong, Chris Addison, Henry Blofeld, David Hepworth, Phill Jupitus and Dermot Magennis.

The first single ‘It’s Just Not Cricket’ has already been revealed.

The band is scheduled to play a couple of concerts: